Head to head · checked 12 Oct 2026

MentionX vs Semrush

Semrush puts AI Visibility inside a full SEO suite with daily tracking. MentionX is built only for AI answers and costs less at every matched plan, with stored evidence and board-ready decks.

Checked 12 Oct 2026Source: semrush.com/pricing/seo-ai-searchUSD · monthly billing

What is the difference between MentionX and Semrush?

Semrush adds AI Visibility to its SEO plans, from $199 a month billed monthly, alongside keyword tracking and site audits. MentionX is a dedicated AI visibility platform from $59 that stores every AI answer as evidence and turns scans into Boardroom decks.

MentionXEvidence-first AI visibility
SemrushSEO and AI in one suite
Spark50 prompts · 3 engines · 7-day trial$59a month
PromptsCounted per dayEnginesNot countedPrice−$140
Starter50 a day prompts · Google, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and more$199a month
Nova150 prompts · 6 engines · 7-day trial$149a month
PromptsCounted per dayEnginesNot countedPrice−$150
Pro+100 a day prompts · Google, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and more$299a month
Galaxy150 prompts · 10 engines · sales-led$299starting price, a month
PromptsCounted per dayEnginesNot countedPrice (from)−$250
Advanced200 a day prompts · Google, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and more$549a month
MentionX aheadSemrush aheadMatched by price and prompt allowance, not by plan name.
Fit

MentionX or Semrush: Which one fits your team

Choose MentionX if

  • You only need AI visibility and want to pay for that alone: Spark is $59 against Semrush Starter at $199.
  • You want named coverage of Claude, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overviews on Nova, and 10 engines on Galaxy.
  • Leadership needs a deck with the stored answers behind every number.
  • You want Mentionie to answer questions about your own scan evidence.

Choose Semrush if

  • You already run SEO in Semrush and want AI visibility in the same login.
  • You need daily prompt tracking.
  • Keyword tracking, site audits and multiple websites matter as much as AI answers.
  • You want API data access, on Advanced.
Engine coverage

AI engines in MentionX and Semrush plans: Every engine, every plan

EngineSpark$59Nova$149Galaxyfrom $299Starter$199Pro+$299Advanced$549
ChatGPTIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
GeminiIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Google AI ModeIncludedIncludedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
PerplexityNot includedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
ClaudeNot includedIncludedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Google AI OverviewsNot includedIncludedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Microsoft CopilotNot includedNot includedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Meta AINot includedNot includedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
DeepSeekNot includedNot includedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
GrokNot includedNot includedIncludedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Included in MentionXIncludedNot included or not listed

Semrush coverage from semrush.com/pricing/seo-ai-search, 12 Oct 2026. MentionX coverage from our plan data.

Plan by plan

MentionX and Semrush pricing: Every plan, line by line

FeatureMentionX SparkMentionX NovaMentionX GalaxySemrush StarterSemrush Pro+Semrush Advanced
Monthly$59$149from $299sales-led$199$299$549
Billed yearly$590 a year$1,490 a yearQuote$165.17 a month$248.17 a month$455.67 a month
Prompts5015015050 a day100 a day200 a day
Engines included3610Google, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and moreGoogle, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and moreGoogle, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and more
TrackingWeeklyWeeklyWeeklyDailyDailyDaily
Team seatsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Free trial7 days7 daysSales-led7 days7 daysCustom plan
Mentionie100 messages a month800 messages a month2,000 messages a monthNot listedNot listedNot listed
Boardroom decks5 a monthUnlimitedUnlimitedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Also includedGEO Content Agent, 5 articles a monthGEO Content Agent, 30 articles a monthGEO Content Agent, 50 articles a month5 websites, 500 keywords, AI-ready site audit15 websites, 1,500 keywords40 websites, 5,000 keywords, API data

MentionX figures are read from our current plan data. Semrush figures from semrush.com/pricing/seo-ai-search, checked 12 Oct 2026. "Not listed" means the vendor's pricing page does not mention it.

Where Semrush is ahead

Where Semrush is better than MentionX: The gaps, in our own words

Daily trackingSemrush tracks prompts daily. MentionX scans weekly.
Full SEO suiteSemrush includes keyword tracking, site audits and 5 to 40 websites in the same plan.
APISemrush Advanced includes API data integration.
Questions

MentionX vs Semrush: common questions

Is MentionX cheaper than Semrush for AI visibility?

Yes at every matched plan on monthly billing: Spark $59 against Starter $199, Nova $149 against Pro+ $299, and Galaxy from from $299 against Advanced $549. Semrush plans also include its SEO tools.

How does Semrush count prompts?

Semrush lists prompts tracked per day: 50 on Starter, 100 on Pro+ and 200 on Advanced. MentionX counts the prompts in each scan, so the two numbers are not directly comparable.

Which AI engines does Semrush track?

Its pricing page names Google Search, ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini, "and more". MentionX lists every engine by plan: 3 on Spark, 6 on Nova and 10 on Galaxy.

Can I use both?

Yes. Many teams keep Semrush for SEO and use MentionX for AI answers, citations and board reporting.

More comparisons

Weighing someone else too?

Judge it on your brand

Run your own scan, then decide.

Your first scan shows how often AI recommends you, who wins instead and which sources it trusts. Free for 7 days on Spark and Nova.

Start 7-day free trial